SOUTH BUCKS DISTRICT COUNCIL

Annual Meeting - 25 May 1999

Present: Mr Adams, Mrs Barton, Mr Bowater, Mr Bridger, Mrs Burry, Mr Cole, Mr Cooper, Mr Dhillon, Mr Dolan, Mr Egleton, Mrs Fea, Mr Greer, Mr Henry, Prof. Hogarth, Dr Hollis, Mr Houdret, Mr Jones, Dr Kennedy, Mrs Kverndal, Mr Lidgate, Mrs Mallinder, Mrs Mallowan, Mr McKenzie, Mr Penfold, Mr Reed, Mr Rigby, Mr Royston, Dr. Scott, Mr Sheasby, Mrs Simmonds, Mr G. G. Smith, Mr Somers, Mrs Temple, Mr Whitehouse, Mr Winterbourn, Mrs Woolveridge and Mr Worrall.

Apologies for absence: Mr Dunlop, Mr Nasr and Mrs E. A. Smith.

1. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

On the proposition of Dr Kennedy, seconded by Mr Egleton, it was

RESOLVED that Mr Worrall be elected Chairman of the Council for 1999/2000. Mr Worrall subscribed his statutory declaration of acceptance of office, and thanked the Council for electing him.

2. APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN

On the proposition of Mr Dolan, seconded by Dr Scott, it was

RESOLVED that Dr Kennedy be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Council for 1999/2000. Dr Kennedy subscribed his statutory declaration of acceptance of office, and thanked the Council for appointing him.

3. CHAIRMAN'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Chairman expressed his thanks to the Council for re-electing him for a second year in office and he promised to serve to the best of his ability for the benefit of the whole community. He also thanked Jack McKenzie for his support as Vice-Chairman during the past year.

The Chairman referred to the challenges facing the new Council in the near future which would require very important decisions to be taken. The issues included increased partnership working, best value and the need for extensive public consultation, the planned office move to bring the Council closer to the community, and fundamental changes in Council leadership and working introducing a cabinet and scrutiny committees. Preparing for this would call for committee and enthusiastic Members and Officers to work together so that effective decisions could be taken.

The Chairman concluded by looking ahead to the likely move towards regional government which he envisaged would lead to unitary authorities in Buckinghamshire.

4. MINUTES

The minutes of the meeting of the Council held on 27 April 1999, having been circulated, were taken as read, approved as a true record and signed by the Chairman.

5. TIME OF MEETINGS

Consideration was given to the time of meetings for the Council and Committees. It was proposed and seconded that the Council and Committees continue to meet at 4.15 p.m. for 1999/2000 when the matter could be reviewed in light of the experience of the new Council and the likely changes to Committees. An amendment was proposed and seconded that Council and Committee meetings commence at 6.30 p.m. for the coming year. After discussion, the amendment was put to the vote and was lost.

RESOLVED that the Council and Committees continue to meet at 4.15 p.m. for 1999/2000.

(NOTE: Dr Kennedy, Mrs Mallinder and Dr Scott asked that it be recorded that they had voted against the proposal).

6. APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN OF POLICY COMMITTEE

Pursuant to Standing Order 5, it was proposed by Dr Kennedy and seconded by Mrs Mallowan and

RESOLVED that Mr Egleton be appointed Chairman of the Policy Committee for 1999/2000.

7. APPOINTMENT OF STANDING COMMITTEES

Consideration was given to a report of the Director of Finance & Central Services which set out the allocation of seats on each Committee determined in consultation with the Political Group Leaders. The report also set out the nominations of the Political Groups for those seats and Mr Egleton reported

a minor revision to the nominations of the Conservative Group.

RESOLVED that:-

(1) the Standing Committees be appointed, in accordance with the wishes of the Political Groups, as set out below;

(2) the Committees serve for a term of two years until the Annual Meeting in 2001, unless earlier variation was required.

POLICY COMMITTEE

Conservative (12)	Independent (4)	Liberal Democrat (2)
Mr Bowater	Mr Bridger	Mr Henry
Mr Cole	Mr Reed	Mrs Mallinder
Mr Dolan	Mr Rigby	
Mr Dunlop	Mrs E. A. Smith	
Mr Egleton		
Prof. Hogarth		
Mrs Mallowan		
Mr McKenzie		
Mr Royston		
Mr Sheasby		
Mr G. G. Smith		

Mr Whitehouse

ENVIRONMENT & HOUSING COMMITTEE

Conservative (9)	Independent (3)	Liberal Democrat (1)
Mr Adams	Mrs Kverndal	Mr Jones
Mrs Barton	Mrs E. A. Smith	
Mr Dhillon	Mr Winterbourn	
Mr Egleton		Non-Group (1)
Mrs Fea		Mrs Burry
Dr Hollis		
Mr Houdret		
Mrs Mallowan		
Mrs Woolveridge		

COMMUNITY & LEISURE COMMITTEE

Conservative (10)	Independent (3)	Liberal Democrat (1)
Mr Adams	Mr Greer	Mr Jones
Mr Bowater	Mr Reed	
Mr Dunlop	Mrs Temple	
Mr Egleton		
Mr Lidgate		
Mr McKenzie		
Mr Nasr		
Dr Scott		
Mr Sheasby		
Mr G. G. Smith		

PLANNING & TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE

Conservative (12)	Independent (4)	Liberal Democrat (1)
Mrs Barton	Mr Cooper	Mrs Mallinder
Mr Cole	Mr Greer	
Mr Dolan	Mr Rigby	
Mr Egleton	Mrs Temple	Non-Group (1)
Prof. Hogarth		Mrs Burry
Dr Hollis		
Dr Kennedy		
Mr Nasr		
Mr Penfold		
Mr Royston		
Mrs Simmonds		
Mr Somers		

8. APPOINTMENT OF SUB-COMMITTEES AND PANELS

Consideration was given to a report of the Director of Finance & Central Services proposing guidance from the Council for the Committees on the size and balance of Sub-Committees and Panels to be appointed. Sub-Committees and Panels were required to be balanced in line with the balance between the Political Groups on the Council as a whole and the report set out a calculation showing the balance, in accordance with the current makeup of the Council, for Sub-Committees of various sizes.

The Council agreed that the balance was most fairly represented where the body had a total membership of 4 or a total membership of 8. For a small body of any other size, because of the rounding up or down required to a whole number of Members, the proportions were not so fairly represented. In order to achieve this fair representation, it would be necessary for most of the existing 4 or 5 Member Sub-Committees, Panels, for instance Executive Sub-Committees and Budget Review Panels to comprise 4 Members whilst most other Sub-Committees and Panels of previously 6 Members or more should comprise 8 Members.

RESOLVED that Committees be advised to appoint Sub-Committees and Panels comprising either 4 or 8 Members.

9. ADJOURNMENT OF MEETING

RESOLVED that the Council do adjourn to enable Standing Committees to appoint (where those appointments needed to be made before the next ordinary meeting):-

(a) Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen;

(b) Sub-Committees and Panels,

(c) Representatives on Outside Bodies.

The Standing Committees having met and made the following appointments:-

Policy Committee - Mr Royston (Vice-Chairman);

Community and Leisure Committee - Mr McKenzie (Chairman), Mr G. G. Smith (Vice-Chairman);

Environment and Housing Committee - Mrs Malllowan (Chairman), Mrs Woolveridge (Vice-Chairman);

Planning and Transportation Committee - Mr Dolan (Chairman), Mr Penfold (Vice-Chairman);

the Council resumed sitting.

10. NOTICE OF MOTION

Notice having been giving under Standing Order 13, it was moved by Mr Rigby and seconded by Mr Cooper that:-

"That every six months the Council publishes a record of attendances for each Member showing actual compared with possible attendances for meetings of the Council, Committees, Sub-Committees and Panels".

The motion, after being moved and seconded, was referred without discussion to the Policy Committee for consideration and report.

11. TERMINATION OF MEETING

The meeting terminated at 6.00 p.m.