Meeting documents

Venue: Council Chamber

Contact: Peter Druce - Democratic Services Officer 

No. Item



To receive apologies for absence.


Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Mrs J Adey*, Z Ahmed*, M Asif*, Ms A Baughan*, S Broadbent*, S Brown*, H Bull, D Carroll, M Clarke*, Mrs L Clarke OBE*, A Collingwood*, M Davy, C Etholen*, R Farmer*, R Gaffney*, S Graham*, T Green*, G Hall*, M Hanif, M Harris*, C Harriss, M Hashmi*, A Hill*, Mahboob Hussain JP*, D Johncock*, Mrs A Jones, D Knights, Mrs J Langley*, T Lee, Mrs W Mallen, N Marshall*, H McCarthy*, I McEnnis*, R Newman*,Ms C Oliver*, G Peart BEM*, S Raja, S Saddique*, J Savage*, R Scott*, N Teesdale*, Mrs J Teesdale*, A Turner*, Ms J Wassell, D Watson*, C Whitehead*, R Wilson* and L Wood*.


*voted electronically prior to the meeting.


Apologies for absence were also received from Honorary Alderman J Blanksby, P Cartwright, B Jennings, Mrs P Priestley, Mrs Peatey and R Pushman.



To receive any disclosure of disclosable pecuniary interests by Members relating to items on the agenda. If any member is uncertain as to whether an interest should be disclosed, he or she is asked if possible to contact the District Solicitor prior to the meeting.


Members are reminded that if they are declaring an interest they should state the nature of that interest whether or not they are required to withdraw from the meeting.



There were no declarations of interest declared at the meeting.


Declarations of Interest had already been indicated on the papers and It was noted that the proposed Honorary Alderman could not vote for themselves or significant others in relation to the electronic vote or the vote held in the Chamber.





Supporting documents:


Due to the developing situation regarding the Coronavirus, and after much careful consideration, the decision had been taken that under the circumstances it was necessary to hold the meeting with Members able to vote electronically, and in person if they wished to do so. It was noted that the Council was extremely disappointed that it would be unable to celebrate the end of Wycombe District Council in the way that it had hoped. However, it was of paramount importance that the health and safety of our community, especially the more vulnerable members remained the top priority.  It was deemed necessary that this meeting should go ahead with social distancing practices in place. As Wycombe District Council would cease to exist on the 1st April this was the last opportunity to award these honours. Members were thanked for their understanding.


The report that had been published and emailed to Members in advance of the meeting set out the proposed amendments to Wycombe District Council’s Honorary Alderman Scheme. It also sought approval for the enrolment to the position of Honorary Alderman for the 11 individuals listed in Recommendation (ii) below. The Appendix to the report detailed the long standing service of the nominees.


During discussions, it was confirmed that those Honorary Alderman who were serving Members could only exercise the role once they ceased to be serving Members.


The Chairman, Cllr P Turner, proposed the Motions and these were seconded by the Leader of the Council, Ms K Wood.


Upon confirmation of the electronic votes and those made in the Chamber, it was:


RESOLVED: That (i) the enrolment should be in accordance with the Council’s Scheme for the Enrolment of Honorary Aldermen set out in Part 1 H of the Constitution (the Scheme) and that:


a)      In accordance with regulation 32 of the Local Government (Structural Changes) (Transitional Arrangements) No. 2 Regulations 2008 the prohibition on serving members of Wycombe District Council be waived;


b)      The requirement on the Chief Executive to refer the nominations to a Council meeting for agreement prior to this Special Meeting be waived;


c)      The limitation on the number of current enrolments be waived to allow for the enrolment of up to 11 new Honorary Aldermen or Alderwomen; and


(ii)     In accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, and the Scheme, subject to the waivers detailed above, the title of Honorary Alderman or Honorary Alderwoman as appropriate be conferred upon:-

Councillor Mike Appleyard

Councillor Sebert Graham

Councillor Alan Hill

Councillor Mrs Audrey Jones

Councillor Hugh McCarthy

Councillor John Savage

Councillor David Shakespeare

Councillor Mrs Jean Teesdale

Councillor Nigel Teesdale

Councillor Roger Wilson and

Former Councillor Mrs Janet Riddington (immediate effect)


In recognition and appreciation of their exceptional service to

Local Government as a Member of Wycombe District Council.






The Leader of the Labour Group, Councillor R Raja, commented that the current situation was very sad, and thanked staff for all their hard work and support throughout the years.


The Leader of the Council, Ms K Wood, concluded by thanking staff for all their support and hard work over the years, during the unitary transformation and particularly now during the Coronavirus pandemic. She then thanked all Members who had voted electronically and the Members and staff who had attended the meeting.


The above remarks were reiterated by the Chairman of the Council who then swiftly closed the last meeting of Wycombe District Council.